Skip to content

Adam has one huge post right here

August 18, 2008

Here are some things you will not hear me blog about this week:

(1) Barack Obama’s VP choice. Every armchair politician knows that Obama will only win if he chooses their man/woman. Count me out.

(2) Michael Phelps’ Olympic record. It’s impressive. End of story.  Babble on about it too much longer and you risk sounding like Andrea Kramer interviewing him.

(3) Cats. Cats are useless. Would a cat guard its master’s body for six weeks after he committed suicide in the forest to keep coyotes from tearing said corpse apart? I think not.

Also, I have been looking for this video to post for about 15 minutes, and I have finally given up.  Apparently no one else except Andy and me heard it, or finds it funny.  Earlier in the Olympics, Alicia Sacramone, a US gymnast, was doing a set of vaults to qualify for the finals.  Compared to most gymnasts, especially the pre-pubescent Chinese team, Sacramone has a relatively large (read: normal-sized) chest.  

Tim Dagget, ever the astute and sensitive commentator, blurts as she is running down the mat to the vault, “Sacramone has two huge ones right here.” He’s talking about her vaults, of course, but given the situation it was funny.  So where is the video?  Idiots of the internet, you have failed me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. andy permalink*
    August 19, 2008 12:42 pm

    This is really disappointing. I almost choked on my food when he said that.

  2. August 19, 2008 1:22 pm

    I agree. Also, I was about to hit “publish” and then I realized that maybe I should check Wikipedia to confirm that she is actually 18 before I make such a comment. Luckily she is. And was I the only one who noticed yesterday that NBC had listed a Chinese gymnasts’ age as 15? I guess Bela was controlling the display or something.

  3. August 21, 2008 12:27 pm

    Here is something for you guys to chew on. Watch the Women’s platform tonight and notice the Chinese Divers. They are 15 and 16, and that is probably true since there isn’t an age limit. Notice how much older they look then the gymnasts. It is really blatant how young their gymnasts are. Another thing that should be mentioned, the skinnier of the two Chinese divers is said that she “doesn’t like to eat” by our (NBC’s) astute female commentator. When did anorexic become “doesn’t like to eat.” Both of them look really skinny but one definitely looks malnourished, I can’t believe she doesn’t break in half entering the water.

Leave a Reply

