Skip to content

Wardrobe Malfunction

November 29, 2007

I hate wearing belts. To me belts are more pointless than ties. Ties may have no real function in a wardrobe but at least they have some aesthetic value. Belts add no value.

I buy clothes that fit me. My pants do not require the help of a leather strap tied around my waist to keep from falling down. Maybe if pants were sold as “one size fits all” we would need belts. But when you can buy pants off the shelf that have your waist size down to the last inch, why are they necessary? What is the purpose of a belt besides making me less comfortable sitting at my desk all day?

I am not wearing a belt today because I have a sweater on that covers the beltloops of my pants. I love not wearing belts, but unfortunately appearance matters at my current client and I have to, or people will judge me harshly. I wish I never had to wear a belt again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. andy permalink*
    November 29, 2007 11:54 am

    A scathing commentary on business dress. 9/10.

    But really, I wear a belt because I have to. Because these pants are too big and I don’t want to buy new ones.

    If you want to buy me some size 35 dress pants I will join you in not wearing belts. Until then I continue to wear these pants. With the stretchy Charles Barkley-endorsed waist bands. From Wal-Mart. With my shirt untucked. I did actually wear brown socks today, but that’s with a caveat: I also wore the same pair yesterday.

    I stretch this “business casual” thing as far as I can.

  2. November 29, 2007 2:49 pm

    Andy has informed me that “Wardrobe Dysfunction” would have been a more accurate title for this post.

    I agree, but I don’t think significantly changing posts after people have read them is a good habit to get into, so I am leaving it as it is.

  3. marino permalink
    November 29, 2007 3:04 pm

    also, the british teacher in sudan got convicted

    another victory for justice.

  4. Andrea permalink
    November 29, 2007 6:12 pm

    I had no idea that you have such a deep hatred for belts. So now it’s bad drivers and belts…learn new things everyday.

Leave a Reply

