Skip to content

I am extreme happy to present this link

November 16, 2007
by

One of my biggest pet peeves is the misuse of adverbs. To me it’s like nails on a chalkboard, but worse. It’s like nails on a chalkboard for me, a normal person, in a society filled with people who are mostly perfectly happy hearing nails on a chalkboard. A society in which blank stares are the retort for me asking “please stop with the fucking nails on the chalkboard”. The raping of the English language is slowly becoming more and more acceptable, and is even gaining entry to dictionaries and passed off as colloquialism. “Flicked off”, “I could care less”, “intensive purposes”, etc., all pretty much get a free pass, but nothing bothers me as much as the phrase “don’t take it personal”.

“Personal” is an adjective, such as “personal computer”, or, “I’m taking the day off for personal reasons” (read: sitting around in my underwear, unshowered, watching daytime TV and playing video games). You cannot take something personal. Just as you cannot take something green, or red, or big, or small, etc. It’s “don’t take it personally”. It’s a god damned adverb. An adjective that describes an action, i.e. a verb.

This link was brought to my attention by my sister. Eric Brian King is personally offended by something that has no effect on him other than allowing him to make craploads of cash. The offense in question:

I’m Eric Brian King, and I take your personal injury ……. PERSONAL!

The seven dots in the ellipsis are verbatim. I just hope that Mr. King isn’t aware of this egregious mistake, and that he didn’t approve it. Lawyers generally have reading/writing comprehension skills that are far above average. There’s really no excuse for this. Worse, the site was developed by “Lawyeredge”, which, while I haven’t really investigated, I’m going to guess is some kind of web development company that specializes in creating sites for attorneys. That’s ten times worse. Lawyers making sites for other lawyers with adverb misuse.

I would honestly contemplate hiring a convicted felon with great grammar skills over a dumbass with a clean record. It means that much to me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzie permalink
    November 16, 2007 12:42 pm

    I never should of showed that to you.

    🙂

  2. marino permalink
    November 16, 2007 1:48 pm

    no if people would only learn the difference between “lose” and “loose”.

    i swear to christ it makes me crazy when people say “how could the dolphins loose that game?”

    its LOSE. end of fucking story. people who cant comprehend that need to sumarily executed; they are polluting the gene pool.

  3. November 16, 2007 1:55 pm

    What about people who can’t spell the word DEFINITELY?

    Attention all people who write like 14 year old girls: THERE IS NO “A” in DEFINITELY. There is an “A” in DEFIANTLY. Think about which word you are actually trying to use and then spell it accordingly.

  4. andy permalink*
    November 16, 2007 1:56 pm

    I think a more realistic application would be “how could the Dolphins possibly win that game?”.

  5. marino permalink
    November 16, 2007 1:59 pm

    yes, the dolphins reference was a red herring.

    of course the dolphins lost that game. how could they not lose? they absolutely suck donkey balls

  6. Keri permalink
    November 16, 2007 3:17 pm

    in regards to…

    that drives me crazy.

Leave a Reply

