Skip to content

Things DC needs more of

October 10, 2007
  1. Coffee shops. Ezra Kline laments the lack of good coffee shops in DC, especially compared to cities such as Seattle and Portland. I have never been to Seattle, but I can say that when I was in Portland, there were no less than seven coffee shops in a 2 block radius from my hotel downtown. Three of them were Starbucks, but still.
  2. Car washes. I wanted to get my car washed today after work, so I searched online for car washes around me. How is it that in a two mile radius from my apartment there is but one car wash? Where do all the people who live in the District take their cars to be washed? I guess I’ll have to find a place out in the suburbs.
  3. Good Pizza. I’m not talking Jumbo Slices here…I mean pizza you eat when you are sober. After living in the city for almost 18 months, my roommate and I just found our first good non-chain, delivery pizza place. We would prefer to support the local businesses around us, but when everything is mediocre at best, Papa Johns here we come.I’m sure I will think of more things, but these jumped out at me right away. What am I missing?
4 Comments leave one →
  1. andy permalink*
    October 11, 2007 2:00 pm

    4. Actual supermarkets

    Do you realize there is not a Wal-Mart Supercenter or anything like it (Super Target, Kroger, etc) within about 40 miles of DC? Why? There’s plenty of regular Wal-Marts. It’s like Safeway/Giant/HT/Wegman’s drafted some non-compete thing so that they could absolutely rape people on grocery prices. 99% of the time you’re paying maximum retail. They think a “sale” is 20 cents off a bag of chips.

    You’d think you could find these things in the suburbs. You won’t find great deals at ANY downtown grocery store in any city in the country, but if you want to drive 15 miles outside you sure as hell can. You can even do this in NYC. But not here. You have to go past Manassas or even Woodbridge to find one of these stores.

  2. Ashley permalink
    October 11, 2007 4:19 pm

    5. A half way respectable mechanic shop. Have you seen the shit DC has to offer in this department? Miserable! Not to mention, you have to make an appointment. What happened to the good old days of just dropping in for an oil change?

    I got a car wash on Monday… I had to drive out to Glebe Road in Alexandria.

  3. October 12, 2007 12:46 pm

    Good luck!

  4. andy permalink*
    October 12, 2007 4:13 pm

    What do you expect in a city that has a 10 second light to turn left from NY Ave onto 395 south, but a 40 second light to turn from some sidestreet onto NY Ave?

    Whoever programs the traffic lights in this city not only needs to be fired, they need to be stoned to death in public. I’d say a vast majority of the timings at intersections make absolutely no sense considering the traffic patterns I’ve witnessed.

Leave a Reply

