Skip to content

Karma or straight cash?

October 9, 2007

Last night at Harris Teeter, 3 fairly noteworthy things happened. The first: upon arrival, my roomie and I grabbed some carts from the lot. One of them had some lady’s small purse sitting in it. She had just hopped in a cab with her groceries and was out of the lot. I like to think of myself as a decent person, so I suggested we turn it in at the customer service desk. My roomie remarked that there was about 80 bucks in cash in it. On a purely economical level, $80 wasn’t worth the chance that we’d turn it in to HT and then be fingered by an employee upon this woman’s return as the ones who turned it in and have to explain why there’s no cash left. But my roomie said “we could always say that’s how we found it.” The more I think about it, the more I’m convincing myself that the woman would gladly take losing the $80 in cash as opposed to losing the entire thing (ID, credit cards, who knows what else). Now I’m thinking we did not make the Pareto optimal improvement. All karma aside, it’s pretty evident that we’d be better off with $40 each and she’s better off with having her wallet returned. Considering we could have very easily ignored the wallet, jacked the cash and tossed it, ran up the credit cards, sold her identity, etc., us taking the cash and returning the wallet is an improvement to everyone’s situation (as we happened upon it, anyway).

The 2nd thing: a good amount of cute girls shopping alone. Although I was wearing a t-shirt that said “If you don’t remember it it didn’t happen.” Um, game over. What do you even say in a grocery store in that situation? The first thing that popped into my head was “can you believe these bananas are so fucking green?” Back to the drawing board.

The 3rd thing: When we left a dude was straight up sprawled out next to a car in the parking lot. Some people were standing over him. I assumed it was just some homeless guy taking a nap behind their car and they wanted to leave. Turns out maybe this guy was dead or something? An ambulance came blasting in as we left.  Really, really strange.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Adam permalink*
    October 9, 2007 5:50 pm

    So I am assuming you did not take the money based on your non-Pareto optimal situation? Good work, the karma gods will look upon you with favor for the next few days. Maybe knowing you did the “right” thing is worth more than $40.

    Or maybe you just lost out on 4 18-packs of Miller Lite.

  2. K-Diggity permalink*
    October 9, 2007 5:59 pm

    Shit, $40 in this city? I can drop $40 at a bar at happy hour and not even flinch any more. Maybe the karma gods are working out of Nebraska and will think it’s a ton of money and bump me up a few notches.

Leave a Reply

