Skip to content

Average production on the downswing

October 8, 2007

I was just told by what I can only assume to be a manager on this temporary project that I was completing tasks at an “abnormal” rate. I wasn’t sure how to react. I babbled for about 5 minutes about how I’d gone and talked to the developers about how I could better test this and that and blah blah blah and I promise I’ll be more thorough from that moment on. Actually, I zoned out for those 5 minutes and I’m the one that did the talking, so I really don’t remember much.

Point being, I was thorough. I was doing what they asked in the way they wanted it…I guess I’m just fast? Slightly competent? Less retarded than the other people?

Time to really turn on the consultant in me and lower my average output from here on out. Looks like I’ll crank the actual work to total bullshit ratio down a bit. Target: 4 actual work hours for every 10 billed. I was doing about half and half, because some of the stuff here really does take a bit, which I thought was a pretty decent ratio all things considered.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2007 7:05 pm

    Ah hahaha… ROFLMAO

    I “work” for the State of Arizona and I often get this lecture… it’s even worse when I get the thinly-veiled contempt from my co-workers when I am productive and don’t make a career out of a 5-minute project. Sheesh…

    I’ve got to get back to playing music full-time again. I thought the politics of the music biz were bad, it’s even worse in public “service” since you don’t get paid worth a damn.

  2. Adam permalink*
    October 9, 2007 3:39 pm

    One thing I’ve quickly learned about government contracting is that the status quo is always the way to go. No matter what their agency may say about innovation, the average government worker has a vested interest in resisting change.

    Your increase in efficiency made everyone uneasy because now more may be expected of them. For the good of everyone, go back to doing the bare minimum.

    I’m sure this is true in other industries as well, but this is where my experience is. Like Michael said on The Office last week: “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks. Because it’s illegal. And you will go to jail.”

  3. October 9, 2007 7:11 pm

    No kidding. Mostly I just try to keep my head down, the teflon suit on, and look busy. I’m just in a situation that I’m damned if I do, and damned if I don’t – I kind of expounded on that in my blog today. I’m admonished for being too productive while at the same time I am told that I need to look busy. Blogging seems to be a good outlet – I write for a living in my current job so I guess it’s a good decoy for the induhviduals who tell me to look busy.

    Most of the time I am actually finished with my work; I just have to pretend to “have to check on that and get back to you.”

Leave a Reply

