Skip to content

Bad Business Practice of the Day

September 29, 2007

The bank I use is on a street with several other banks in walking distance.  There is also a Safeway on the same block, where I can pay with my Debit card and get cash back.  Given the fairly high level of competition, why does my bank allow Abrasive Homeless Crackhead Lady to sit outside the doors to the bank?  The last three times I’ve wanted to go to the bank, she has been there, yelling at people as they go in and out the doors.  She doesn’t scare me, but she certainly annoys me.  So I just walk right past to another ATM.  Surely I am not the only customer turned off by this.  They should really do something about it; maybe they can pay her off to move to a different location.

Or maybe, one of the other banks has already paid her to sit in front of my bank and discourage customers from coming in.  If that’s the case, this post could be about a good business practice, not a bad one!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    October 2, 2007 3:14 pm

    Just the other day, my roommate and I were in line at a McDonalds drive-thru where a homeless man was standing right across from the food window. Pretty ingenious of the homeless man: his target is parked there long enough for him to pester them, their window will be down, and they will have cash out (or if they are paying by credit card, they can at least buy something for him).

    Anyway, after placing my order, I pulled around the building and saw this man just standing there harassing the drive-thru customers. I let out a huge sigh of discontent and then told my roommate she wasn’t going to get her chicken selects. I immediatly pulled out of line. I’m sure that I was not the only one with this response.

    For the life of me, I can’t understand why McDonalds’s didn’t give him the boot. Something as simple as a “No Soliciting” sign in the window of the restaurant would give them cause to call the police. (Sidebar: I recently saw a sign in a McDonald’s that said there is a 20 minute limit on eating your food in the dining room. Really? Not even a full thirty minutes?) In your case, the bank could just ignore the abrasive homeless crackhead lady, but Micky D’s is losing customers AND messing up the rotation of orders. The car behind me probably got my order and so on. In hindsight, I wish I would have ordered something ridiculous that they couldn’t just pawn off on someone else (perhaps a triple quarterpounder with extra mayo and four servings of onions and a mcflurry whipped with ketchup). As an already disgruntled drive-thru worker, I would have made sure to get rid of this guy who was just making my life even worse.

    Still hungry, we went across the street to the Wendy’s. They did not have a menu board because it was stolen. Yes, stolen. Fu(k DC.

Leave a Reply

